Commemoration of the 1953 flood disaster

The victims of the flood disaster are commemorated annually on 1 February. This takes place in cemeteries and other places in the delta area where monuments have been erected after the disaster. On November 6, 2003, fifty years after the closure of the last dike in Ouwerkerk, the then Minister of the Interior, Johan Remkes, officially declares the four caissons of the Watersnoodmuseum and its surroundings as National Monument Flood Disaster 1953.

Terugblik Herdenking Watersnoodramp 1953 - Watersnoodmuseum Ouwerkerk

Visual artist Gust Romijn was commissioned by the municipality of Schouwen-Duiveland to create a monument. This monument, in the form of a slender column, stands next to the museum. Here too, the disaster is commemorated annually. Every ten years the national commemoration of the flood disaster is held here.